Dual status spouse treated as US resident

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

Acacia

Dual status spouse treated as US resident

Post by Acacia »

Hello to this great forum,
I am a US resident Alien and my wife is Dual status Alien. We want to file MFJ and she wants to elect to be treated as US resident. I am aware that it is possible. But how should we do that? Is it enought to just write a statement ? Does this statement should be in a particular format? Is there any sample I can use from? Any help or assistance appreciated. :)
JGCA

Post by JGCA »

If ypu want to file a 1040 full year as MFJ, simply file a regular full year 1040 as Married no other disclosure is required , repoert you world income on it both of you and take any foreign tax credit if you have any to claim.
JG
Acacia

Post by Acacia »

[quote="JGCA"]If ypu want to file a 1040 full year as MFJ, simply file a regular full year 1040 as Married no other disclosure is required , repoert you world income on it both of you and take any foreign tax credit if you have any to claim.[/quote]

Thank you for your reply, I am aware that based on th treaty between US and Canada, probably any disclosure is needed, But my wife is not Canadian (neither citizen, nor resident). I am Canadian though. Do you still think that we don't need any disclosure?
JGCA

Post by JGCA »

SHe will file with you joint, her disclosure would be her social security number which she needs to file.
JG
Acacia

Post by Acacia »

Thanks for your reply. But the base of my question was this page from IRS website:
http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/int ... 70,00.html
it says:
How to Make the Choice