E-filing from abroad

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

eortlund

E-filing from abroad

Post by eortlund »

So apparently we are supposed to be able to e-file now. But I had trouble doing this through Turbotax because it flagged several "mistakes" I had to fix before I could e-file. Mistakes like the lack of an official EIN on the part of my husband's Canadian employer. I didn't see a way forward so just printed and mailed as usual. Has anyone else figured out how to successfully e-file?
qweryt

Post by qweryt »

There is a special place in TurboTax to enter foreign earned income not reported on W-2 and it doesn't require EIN for the foreign employer.

I have been e-filing for the last several years without any issues.
eortlund

Post by eortlund »

Hmmmm....that would be good, but would entering it that way generation a 2555? I don't do it that way, I take foreign tax credits.
eortlund

Post by eortlund »

generate
qweryt

Post by qweryt »

No, it would not. I use FTC as well. Income->Foreign Earned Income->Check "a statement from my employer"->Enter your foreign wages->Say "No, I do no want to use form 2555". Done
eortlund

Post by eortlund »

I see. Thank you. I will make a note of it and try it next year.
eortlund

Post by eortlund »

I helped my friend with her taxes and tried this method here. It didn't ask for an EIN at the end, however, it wouldn't let me proceed with e-filing until I "fixed" the lack of a US address for my husband's employer. I tried to fill in a Canadian postal card and it wouldn't even enter it. ??? How can I get around that?
eortlund

Post by eortlund »

postal code
qweryt

Post by qweryt »

What form and line does it ask you to enter the US address on?
eortlund

Post by eortlund »