US-Canada Tax filling - first time!

This is our main tax information forum which deals with topics concerning Canadians living and working in the U.S., U.S. citizens contemplating working in Canada, and all aspects of Canadian and U.S. income tax and related adminstrative issues.

Moderator: Mark T Serbinski CA CPA

northstar

US-Canada Tax filling - first time!

Post by northstar »

Would appreciate if someone could help answer the following questions with regards to filling for US taxes. This is my first year of filing taxes in the US after getting a green card last year.

1) I do not have an accurate base amount for my RRSP at the time I left Canada, should I use approximate numbers to calculate any interest earned under it (no capital gains) for reporting on form 8891?

2) If the tax refund I will get from CRA due to RRSP contributions last year should be deducted from Canadian tax credit that will go on form 1040 ?

3) I will be paying taxes on interest income to CRA because the banks didn't convert me to a "non-resident" status and thus sent me a t5 instead of a NR4, so should I include this as credit on my tax returns for US (for 1040)?

Thanks in advance!
Hari
nelsona

Post by nelsona »

1. 8891 is used to defer taxation, thus you do not report any interest or gains. Follow the form.

2. Correct. Use the TAX payable as the basis towards your foreign tax credit. You should be using the better 2555 to exempt the Cdn wages instead, but that is your choice I guess.

3. Yes. But it merely becomes part of your TOTAL Cdn income, which you then prorate the tax towards that income. If you reported $1000 of income of which $10 was interest, then only 1% of your total tax bill goes toward interest.
What you should have doen was only report the portion of interest earned before you left canada on your Cdn return, since there is no tax for non-residents. It doesn't matter which form the ban k sent you.